# TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Of November 19, 2021

### Call to Order:

Vice-Chairperson Walter Miller called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:34 am at the El Paso MPO Board Room, 211 N. Florence, 1st Floor, Suite 103, El Paso, TX, also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Walter Miller (V-Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
4. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario
5. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Lina Ortega (Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District
6. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District
7. Cassandra Hernandez	City Representative – District 3	Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District
8. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso		
9. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso		
10. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7		
11. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso		
12. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		
13. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport		
14. Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso		
15. Ivy Avalos	Mayor, City of Socorro	MPO STAFF	
16. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. César Blanco	TX State Senator	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Jeff Howell	Senior Planner
20. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Sec
21. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
22. Willie Madrid	NM State Representative – 53 <sup>th</sup> District	Sonia Perez	TDM Modeler
23. Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM	Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala	Transportation Planning & Programs Mgr.
24.		George Inostroza	PMPO Program Administrator
25.		Tim McDaniel	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
26.			
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Mayela Granadoa- Senator Bl	anco Robert Storch	Tzu-Liang (Bill) Tseng - UTEP	Soheil Nazarian - UTEP
Angie Rodriguez - EPE	Greg McNicol – TPAC UTEP	Grisel Arizpe - ÉPE	David Chriztensen - ASPIRE
Natalie Littlefield – Borderplex Alliance James Pleasant II – EPE		Ivonne Santiago - UTEP	
		1	
		1	
		1	
		Ш	

(Meeting began with 22 members)

- Chairperson, Lina Ortega opened Public Comment:
- 1. Scott White commented.
  - Chairperson, Lina Ortega, closed Public Comment.

## **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

- Approve the minutes of the October 22, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting.
  Motion to approve the minutes for the October 22, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting, made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Motion passed unanimously.
- Approve the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy.
  Motion to approve the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy, made by Mayor Javier Perea, and seconded by Ellen Smyth. Motion passed Unanimously.

- 3. Authorize MPO Executive Director to sign the Contract Amendment between Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization, contract number 582-20-119790.
  - Motion to authorize MPO Executive Director to sign the Contract Amendment between Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization, contract number 582-20-11979, made by Ricardo Samaniego, and seconded by Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously.
  - Cassandra Hernandez commented
  - · Sam Rodriguez commented
  - Ellen Smyth commented

## **REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:**

- 4. Preliminary funding estimate for TxDOT FY 2023 Unified Transportation Program and potential benefits for El Paso MPO Region Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo
  - Trent Doolittle commented
  - Cassandra Hernandez commented
- 5. Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 MTP, TIP, and Transportation Conformity Report (TCR) Schedule Update Status report provided by EPMPO Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala
- 6. RMS 2020 Project Status Report
  - Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo
- 7. Executive Director Report
  - Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>December 19, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

8. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:32 a.m. made by Ricardo Samaniego, seconded by Oscar Leeser. Motion carried unanimously.

\*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area